Cinnamon Pork Buns

Welcome to my WordPress blog, everyone!  I decided to move from blogger because I wasn’t sure exactly what I wanted this blog to be, considering it fell horribly by the wayside a few months ago due to school work and other aspects of life that keep one busy (extracurriculars, a relationship, friendships, etc.).  But I’m back and ready to start again.  Now that finals are over, summer is in full swing, and I finally worked out time management with my current internship, I can fully commit to making food and blogging about it (not that I usually don’t make food; I just usually throw things together and hope the dish is not gross).  This first entry is about one of the best things made during my spring break: gluten-free cinnamon pork buns.

The Food

My wonderful boyfriend, Matt, follows Foodbeast which I’m sure most foodies have heard of.  If not, it is a collection of any food-related news, be it fast food product announcements or innovative recipes.  That’s how we stumbled upon this gem: pulled pork cinnamon buns.  Of course, that was just the inspiration.  Due to my gluten-free lifestyle, I had to tweak the recipe a little bit.  So I used Chebe cinnamon roll mix.
Cinnamon roll mix

I live by this mix; it’s so easy to use and you need only one or two more ingredients to make it work.  But now you’re wondering: where did we get the pork from?  Given the fact that Matt and I wanted to most epic stay-cation ever, we roasted a pork shoulder a few days earlier.  It really smoked up the apartment because of diminished quality of our oven, but the pork still came out delicious and the meat fell right apart as we tried to cut into it to portion it out.  So, then we decided to make another relatively easy pork recipe and cinnamon rolls are delicious; our pork was delicious; why not combine the two?

Gluten-free Cinnamon Pork Buns Recipe
  • 1 box Chebe
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tablespoons of oil
    • We used olive oil, but I’m sure something like coconut would be AWESOME
  • 2 tablespoons whole milk
  • 1 pound of pre-made pulled pork
    • Used a recipe from What to Cook and How to Cook It by Jane Hornby
      • I highly recommend this book
  • A Very Popular BBQ Sauce
    • Instead of brown sugar, we used molasses and regular cane sugar
    • We made one cup because four seemed a little excessive
  • 2 heaping tablespoons of cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon paprika
  1. Follow instructions on the box as to how to make the cinnamon buns
  2. Have your boyfriend (or friend) make the BBQ sauce (or you can do it yourself after mixing the dough and ingredients so that the sauce is still warm when you’re done)
  3. Shred pork and mix into the BBQ sauce.
  4. Roll out the dough, making it flat
  5. Put the BBQ pork in the middle, spreading fairly evenly
  6. Roll the dough into a tube
  7. Cut into 1- to 2-inch slices
  8. Place into muffin tin
  9. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown if you are blessed with an oven that has a window
  10. While waiting, mix together paprika and cinnamon
  11. Pull out of oven when done
  12. Sprinkle some cinnamon-paprika mixture on top
  13. Enjoy
  14. [Optional] Invite friends, make coffee while it snows outside, and watch The Hunger Games
IMG_5866

Look at this beautiful pork shoulder

In true professional form (sarcasm), I somehow forgot to take pictures of our buns!  That is so unfortunate!  I will definitely do a take-two on this post and include a picture of the delicious buns.  I make them a lot of the time now, especially since pulled pork is the kind of meal you can make over the weekend to have super easy dinner and lunch options throughout the week.

The Clothes

Hat (Asos), Scarf (St. Mark's Place), Shirt (Urban Outfitters)

Hat (Asos), Scarf (St. Mark’s Place), Shirt (Urban Outfitters)

During Spring break, comfort was the name of the game.  I am most comfortable in hats and scarves, and this outfit depicts that expertly.

I am so sorry about a botched first entry.  I promise the next one will include more thorough pictures of food, the process of making the food, and a full-body outfit picture.

Keep it delicious,
Jo

Next week: Look forward to some delicious Fourth of July drinks and shooters.

Leave a Reply

