‘Murica Shots and Orange Tea Bourbon Punch

I hope everyone had a fun, safe, delicious, and patriotic Fourth of July!  My friends and I had a great time, the few of us that were around in Ithaca for the weekend.  Today, I will focus on the delicious drink recipes concocted for the party thrown in my new apartment.

The Drinks

In the tradition of Ithaca 4th of July, we made a punch, but this one seems a lot classier than the Mountain Dew, Kool-aid, vodka, watermelon, and watermelon-soaked vodka monstrosity.  That’s not to say it wasn’t delicious; it was just deadly.

The first thing we made were these shooters, inspired by a recipe from Savory Reviews. When I arrived in Ithaca, the liquor store closed before 10 P.M., even though the flyer on the doors said that their summer hours were until 10. Instead, we had to mod the shots with some substitutes, seeing as the liquor store would also be closed for the Fourth of July.

Look how pretty it is!

Look how pretty it is!

IMG_6193

How we actually wound up serving them because buying a dozen shot glasses at a grocery store is expensive.

‘Murica Shots

  • 1 oz. Grenadine syrup
  • 1 oz. Bailey’s coffee creamer
  • 1 oz. Blue lagoon Mojo Shot malt liquor
  • 1 shot glass
  1. Pour the grenadine to the bottom of the shot glass
  2. Using a spoon held very close to the top of the grenadine, pour the Bailey’s carefully on top
  3. Using the same method, pour the malt liquor on top
  4. Enjoy! 

Serves: 1 (but is very easy to multiply)

The second drink we made for those who did not feel like taking shots was a punch, the recipe inspired by Joy the Baker.  We bought Jim Bean for this recipe and David’s Tea never disappoints, especially when added in cocktail form.  Did I go to their shop in Flatiron and smelled all the ones with the word “orange” in them until I found the perfect one? (Yes.) The flavor I chose to go with was Main Squeeze, an orange-flavored yerba mate-based tea. We started the tea the night before the party so that it could cool to an acceptable punch temperature. It was so hot in my apartment, however, that we also needed to add ice cubes to increase palatability. This drink was a crowd favorite and I can’t wait to experiment with more varied and creative punches.

The punch in all its punch-y glory.

The punch in all its punch-y glory.

Orange Tea Bourbon Punch
  • 1-2 oz. Main Squeeze tea
  • 90 fl. oz. water
  • 2 sliced oranges
  • 16 fl. oz. of orange juice
  • 1/2 to 1 cup of simple syrup
  • 1-2 cups of Jim Bean bourbon
  • 45 fl. oz. teapot
  • Drink dispenser
  1. Brew the 1-2 oz of tea in the teapot at 200 degrees for 5 minutes.
  2. Empty into drink dispenser
  3. Repeat steps 1 and 2 with the same tea
  4. Put in the fridge to cool overnight
  5. Add orange slices
  6. Add orange juice
  7. Pour in bourbon
  8. Add about half the desired amount of simple syrup
  9. Taste
  10. Add more (if you want)
  11. Serve to friends

Servings: 8-10 10-fl. oz. cups

Can easily be refilled.

The Clothes

I am not a proponent of buying clothes just because you might wear them for one occasion during the year. So, for my outfit, I went with a red, white, and blue theme. But, if you do happen to own American flag gear, feel free to wear that too. Or you can be more subtle, just by wearing stripes.

On the left: Val in her American flag shirt. On the right: Miller in khaki shorts and red, white, and blue stripes.

On the left: Val in her American flag shirt. On the right: Miller in khaki shorts and red, white, and blue stripes.

Red (Urban outfitters), blue (Abercrombie and Fitch; yes, I know the comments and remarks recently made by their CEO; I've owned this shirt I was 14), and white (Tibet store in Williamburg)

Red (Urban outfitters), blue (Abercrombie and Fitch; yes, I know the comments and remarks recently made by their CEO; I’ve owned this shirt I was 14), and white (Tibet store in Williamburg)

The Allergies

If you want the shots to be dairy-free, just use a product like coconut milk. The most important part is that it has a higher sugar content than your blue component, but lower than the Grenadine, so that it doesn’t mix and ruin your pretty American-flag layers. I tried determining if malt liquors were gluten-free, but the only information I found was for beer. I only had one of the shots to taste and as a safety precaution, so please comment if some other information comes up.

Keep it boozey,

Jo

Next week: Look forward to a review of pizza from Luigi’s, a joint my friend recommended since they just started offering gluten-free pizza. Oh, and a one- or two-sentence review of Despicable Me 2.

17 thoughts on “‘Murica Shots and Orange Tea Bourbon Punch

  1. An impressive share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who had been doing a little homework on this. And he actually bought me dinner due to the fact that I found it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending the time to discuss this matter here on your web page.

  2. Admiring the dedication you put into your site and in
    depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t
    the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  3. I every time emailed this blog post page to all my friends, because if like to read it after that my contacts will too.

  4. I’m extremely impressed with your writing abilities and also with the format on your blog. Is this a paid subject or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to see a great weblog
    like this one nowadays..

    • Wow, thanks! My friends and I were just brainstorming blog ideas a few years ago at a concert and this content is the brain-child from all of that. I hope to keep it up for a good while. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you so much, However I am experiencing issues with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I am unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody having identical RSS problems? Anyone that knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanx!!

    • Hello! Glad to hear you enjoy the blog. I can look into the RSS issue; I am probably just missing the widget, but hopefully that can get cleared up as soon as possible! Sorry for the inconvenience.

  6. Mahalia says:

    Good post. I certainly appreciate this site.
    Stick with it!

  7. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find many of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.

    Would you offer guest writers to write content in your case?

    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a few of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome weblog!

    • Jo says:

      Haha I don’t see why not. I’m away for the next two weeks so something I don’t have to write from scratch would be great. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. I simply couldn’t depart your site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual information a person supply on your guests? Is gonna be again incessantly to investigate cross-check new posts

    • Jo says:

      I’m going to post almost every Tuesday and then maybe another day during the week as my schedule allows, so look for my posts then!

  9. It’s amazing to visit this site and reading the views of all colleagues on the topic of this paragraph, while I am also
    eager of getting know-how.

Leave a Reply

