Luigi’s and the Quest for Gluten-Free Pizza

Pizza is wonderful. It’s warm, it’s chewy, it has tomatoes, it has cheese, and it’s the ultimate comfort food. It is the staple of New York kind who want something filling to eat but won’t break the 2-dollar bank, i.e. the complete dinner of 99-cent Arizona iced tea and 99-cent pizza from 2 Bros Pizza. Yet whenever I want the cheesy deliciousness delivered or I go out anywhere, 9.9 times out of 10, I can’t eat it…

The Food

Until Luigi’s! I lied in suggesting that it is the only pizza joint that serves gluten-free pizza, since there is Mozzarelli’s in Flatiron and Risotteria in the West Village. The first had okay-pizza with a very traditional pizza-place atmosphere while the second has good Italian food in general and free bread sticks, but is a small venue and a bit crowded. I find more places almost on the daily. But, I was really excited to try a more conventional pizza place, which first specialized in non-gluten-free pizza and then wanted to expand its consumer base. They get the dough from a company called Still Riding Pizza, which outsources a dough to restaurants and consumers to make gluten-free pizza more accessible, which I think is really cool.

The happiest sign ever.

The happiest sign ever.

Unfortunately, for those of us a bit diet-conscious, the only way the pizza is served is in a “personal pizza.” This kind of portioning would work for those people who eat three large meals a day or have gluten-free friends to share it with. I, personally, eat smaller meals spread out throughout the day, so the fact that I ate three slices was a big deal for me. I left the rest of it in my friend’s freezer because throwing out food, for me, is not okay. In addition, this pie is kind of heavy on the wallet. Granted, I also ordered two cans of Canada Dry ginger ale (diet? what’s that), but it came out to 17 dollars, which isn’t too crazy for a gluten-free product, but pretty expensive with regards to what most New Yorkers expect to pay for pizza.

I got grilled chicken on one half and cheese on the other side. I wanted to try something I like and something traditional. Was it good? I liked it, but it is still a far cry from being comparable to conventional pizza.

Half-chicken and half-plain "personal" pizza. Delicious, but way too big.

Half-chicken and half-plain “personal” pizza. Delicious, but way too big.

The Clothes

I couldn’t decide if I wanted to be cheesy and have a pizza-inspired outfit or if I wanted to do something different. I went with a yellow, cheese-colored tank with jeans and sneaker-wedges. Pizza is a comfort-food after all, so I wanted to wear a comfortable outfit to match that aesthetic. In addition, though it was 80-something-degrees and humid outside, movie theaters and pizza joints tend to be cool inside. Safe to say, I embodied comfort. I also wore a bralette under my shirt because my bra was not fun or edgy enough for people to see it (see this article for tips on letting your bra peek through your outfit).

Don’t think wedges are comfortable or that sneaker-wedges just look silly? Easily swap for regular sneakers. Or Converse all-stars. Don’t want to wear a bralette? Wear a camisole or a thicker-fabric tee shirt.

Tank top (Free People), bralette (UrbanOutfitters), jeans (American Eagle), sneaker-wedges (Tobi), backpack (Free People), and cuff (gift from mom)

Tank top (Free People), bralette (UrbanOutfitters), jeans (American Eagle), sneaker-wedges (Tobi), backpack (Free People), and cuff (gift from mom)

The Allergies

Gluten-free pizza is better than never eating pizza, in my opinion. What made me pretty excited was the fact that there is no soy in the dough. Sometimes, soybean flour is used in the product or soy lecithin is present and that makes me sad because I get bloated, itchy, and just all-around uncomfortable. The dough, however, is not vegan, so for those of you who are on a plant-based diet, this product is not for you. I have still yet to find a pizza place that makes vegan, gluten-free dough.

The Random

I high recommend seeing Despicable Me 2, especially if you liked the first one. The sequel might have actually been funnier with more ridiculous situations than its predecessor. Yes, this brief review is coming from a 21-year-old college student, deal with it.

Keep it yummy,

Jo

2 thoughts on “Luigi’s and the Quest for Gluten-Free Pizza

  1. I absolutely love your blog.. Excellent colors & theme. Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my very own site and want to find out where you got this from or just what the theme is called. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

