Sunday’s Wear-Whatever-You-Want

Sundays in my family consist of having a sweet breakfast, followed by going to Church, and then eating a nice fancy lunch. Sundays on campus, however, are lazy days where you wake up late and try to turn your relaxed brain back on to get into the homework flow and prepare for the school week. But lazy is not synonymous with boring and not creative. In this post, I will show you an easy outfit to put together with an even easier lunch menu to suit all your fashion and food needs.

The Food

When I went to Italy, my father and I like to try whatever is new and unusual on the menu. We saw a combination of prosciutto and cantaloupe, which is a fun case of “don’t knock it until you try it.” The saltiness of the smoked meat pairs well with the fresh juiciness of the fruit. A popular other dish we have for lunch to go with the Italian theme is thick-sliced fresh mozzarella slices with thick tomato slices. It is so good; I highly recommend it. It’s also a great example of culinary odge podge that results from having an excess of plant foods and an excess of proteins that you might think would not go together. But go ahead! Don’t be afraid to try it! You never know how much you’ll like the crazy combinations.

Mozzarella + tomato covered in basil-infused olive oil. Cantaloupe + prosciutto along the bottom.

Mozzarella + tomato covered in basil-infused olive oil. Cantaloupe + prosciutto along the bottom.

It was so ready for its close-up.

It was so ready for its close-up.

The Clothes

Lazy does not mean not stylish. I like to wear the same comfortable pairs of shoes when I am feeling lazy. I also like to wear either shorts or really baggy pants. If I go for shorts, the top should be loose. Otherwise, I feel like I resemble a stuffed sausage. I think dressing well when you don’t want to put in too much effect has a lot to do with proportions and comfort. And just wearing things you like.

Top (Pacsun); shorts (TJ Maxx); shoes (Aerosoles); purse (Free People); necklace (Free People)

Top (Pacsun); shorts (TJ Maxx); shoes (Aerosoles); purse (Free People); necklace (Free People)

The Allergies

This type of lunch is gluten-free and packed with vitamins and nutrients. Also sodium, which I seem to struggle with (I dislike the taste of salt so naturally salty foods help me fix my sodium levels). I guess one option for the mozzarella would be to use tofu, since it has a similar texture. I don’t know what to suggest for the prosciutto but please leave a comment if you want to help out other vegans.

Next week: I will be away in Argentina, followed by Iguassu National Park, and in Brazil. I do not want to jump the gun and assume I will have internet availability. The next post will be sometime on August 21st and it will be a fashion and food summary of my adventure. So, I will see all you lovelies in two weeks!

Leave a Reply

