Pudding Pudding: Aka, the Non-Newtonian Vegan Pudding

I sure do love me some yogurt in the morning. You know what I don’t love? Indigestion from eating too much dairy. During my last week of work, I spent much time in the bakery at Ovenly for a final project and I got to spend time with one of the baristas, Sophie. She gave me an excellent recipe for almond milk pudding that came out a little scientific. As in, my general reaction was “OH DEAR GOD WHAT DID I DO.”

The Food

I decided to give the pudding a go. I had to look up a general recipe inspired from a German cooking recipe. Little do you know, I have an inability to follow recipes to the T. Thus, this little string of “you had to be there to understand” hilarity ensued.

The milk and sugar together...pretty normal looking.

The milk and sugar together…pretty normal looking.

I couldn’t find corn starch in my house, so I used tapioca starch instead. I also apparently did not use enough tapioca starch. As I added the water to the starch, I made glue by accident.

Here we have....I don't even know. It was supposed to be starch and water but muh.

Here we have….I don’t even know. It was supposed to be starch and water but muh.

So then the glue was added to the pudding. According to my friend, Andy, there wasn’t enough glue. So, be sure to use twice as much next time! Otherwise, it leads to a jello-like consistency and not a grainy creaminess that is normally associated with pudding.

Apparently, it was pourable though.

Apparently, it was pourable though.

Chia seeds causally floating on top of the boiling mix from the depth of science.

Chia seeds causally floating on top of the boiling mix from the depth of science.

Maybe lay off the chia seeds. But I couldn’t help myself because they are so damn good. And they are so good for you, with that thickening action they do to improve intestinal function.

LOOK AT IT. JUST WHAT. WHY DOESN'T IT GO ON THE SPOON.

LOOK AT IT. JUST WHAT…WHY DOESN’T IT GO ON THE SPOON?

It tasted delicious though. My favorite thing to put on it was vanilla honey granola. But I’m sure you can add oatmeal or berries or whatever you want. Similar to yogurt in the morning! This is just a vegan version of pudding to eat at breakfast. Hopefully, you use my edits so you don’t find yourself rolling on the floor laughing so you don’t cry. Or maybe you’ll laugh so hard, you’ll cry. The possibilities are endless!

Almond Milk Pudding
  • 2 c. almond milk
  • 4 tbspn. tapioca starch (mistake #1)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • However much chia seed you want (mistake #2)
  1. Bring the almond milk to a rolling boil
  2. Add the sugar
  3. Mix 2 tablespoons of water with the tapioca starch
  4. Add it to the almond milk and mix thoroughly
  5. Add vanilla extract
  6. Heat for a few more seconds and then put in container
  7. Cry over consistency

The Clothes

This outfit was inspired a bit by Sophie’s personal style. She tended to wear black and florals. To mimic that, I wore a black shirt-dress with a floral scarf. Usually, I would wear tights, but I clearly am bad at checking the weather, so I was a bit chilly. Add any kind of tights you want to make this outfit more fall-appropriate.

Dress (vintage), scarf (H&M), shoes (Breckelle's), and bracelets (Alex + Ani)

Dress (vintage), scarf (H&M), shoes (Breckelle’s), and bracelets (Alex + Ani)

The Allergies

As mentioned in the title, this recipe is vegan. Though it lacks the beneficial bacteria of yogurt, it is much lighter on the tummy, especially for those of you who cannot handle lactose. You can make it sugar-free by adding a sugar substitute, but watch out for those after-tastes!

Keep it yummy,

Jo

Next Week: Gluten-free cronuts. Oh dear God.

One thought on “Pudding Pudding: Aka, the Non-Newtonian Vegan Pudding

  1. […] These came out delicious. I usually am not a fan of fried food, but this sweet treat was pretty nice. I’m sure more folding and having gluten in the dough would have helped the texture a bit more. But overall, making these for the first time was a very good decision. And did not come out as tragically as the pudding from last week. […]

Leave a Reply

