Scallop Scampi & The Polar Vortex

I know in my last post, I wrote that I was going to write about whatever joint my boyfriend and I decided to eat at before seeing The Book of Mormon (Maryann’s Mexican). The Mexican food was so delicious, we did not have a chance to slow down and take a picture. So, I decided to do another recipe post. I got my wisdom tooth taken out yesterday and it’s still bothering me, so I am confined to a soft-food diet, and nothing warms the soul like asparagus and scallops (what).

As promised from the last post, here is a picture of me in my Kigurumi (see, I’m not so bad).

Blue unicorn Kigurumi, looking cozy as ever with a DavidS Tea mug.

Blue unicorn Kigurumi, looking cozy as ever with a DavidS Tea mug.

The Food

Pasta is probably my favorite thing after tacos. It is so versatile and really easy to eat if you watch those cooking times. Seafood is also easy to eat, mostly because once you cut through whatever crust there is, it becomes super easy to eat. I have been chewing with one side, so foods that are easy to cut and not too hard to chewy is easy. Vegetables in a smaller size will only require one or two bites, which is what I’ve been eating. This recipe also featured some wine, and who doesn’t love white wine with their seafood?

This dinner was surprisingly quick to make–my father was wondering if I was eating raw pasta. I started by simultaneously bringing my salted water to a boil and roasting the asparagus because that just makes slightly more sense to me. Plus, it gives a timer on how long everything else should take.

Look at these asparagus. I kept it simple with just some salt, pepper, and oil olive.

Look at these asparagus. I kept it simple with just some salt, pepper, and oil olive.

Timing the sauce and the scallops was a little trickier. The first part of searing the scallops, just wait three minutes. But, then for the other side, I seared it for 2 minutes and then added my lemon juice and wine, waiting for that to reduce down before adding the butter and some salt, pepper, and basil. It did not come out as thick as I wanted it to be, so if anyone has any fixes, let me know in the comments below. I then drained my pasta when it was ready and then tossed in the scallops, sauce, and asparagus. This dish was light and citrusy, but not very acidic. The scallops were soft, tender, and not chewy, which is exactly the texture you want.

Scallops searing and reducing in the sauce.

Scallops searing and reducing in the sauce.

The entire dish put together. I was too tired to grate some parmesan, but that is ALWAYS a welcome addition to any pasta dish.

The entire dish put together. I was too tired to grate some parmesan, but that is ALWAYS a welcome addition to any pasta dish.

Scallop Scampi with Asparagus
  • 1/4 cup spaghetti (feel free to be authentic and use linguini)
  • 5 sea scallops
  • Butter (to coat pan with) + 1 pat for the sauce
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • 1/4 cup of dry white wine
  • Sprinkling of dried basil (use fresh if you can)(I can’t)
  • Sprinkling of chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2 pound of asparagus
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 ounce of grated parmesan (optional)

Servings: 1

Time: 30-40 minutes

  1. Salt a pot of water, bring to a boil, and add spaghetti to it
  2. Cut asparagus into 1/2-inch pieces, sprinkle with salt and pepper
  3. Arrange on a baking sheet with some olive oil and roast at 400F for 25 minutes
  4. In the mean time, pat scallops dry and sprinkle with salt and pepper
  5. Heat skillet over medium-high and add the butter
  6. Add scallops and heat for three minutes
  7. Then, flip the scallops and cook for 1 to 2 minutes more
  8. Add wine and lemon juice, scraping the brown flavored bits with a spoon
  9. Cook to a boil, then add the 1 pat
  10. Sprinkle the basil and add salt and pepper
  11. At this time, your pasta should also be ready, so put that in your plate-bowl
  12. Add the scallops with the sauce
  13. Take the asparagus out of the oven and add that also
  14. Add some lemon zest from the half-juiced lemon and some parmesan (optional)

The Clothes

You’re probably wondering what a polar vortex. According to some crude research, it is a persistent Arctic cyclone that hangs over a certain area that causes severe temperature drops. Think, The Day After Tomorrow, but minus the ice shelf breaking and Jake Gyllenhal rescuing medicine from a stranded Russian barge for Emmy Rosum. Also, apparently Arctic temperatures and North American temperatures are closer than ever, which is also causing a weird zig-zag in temperature (Source).

So, the primary focus of dressing yourself in the morning during extreme temperature drops should be warmth. Save tights on their for temperatures closer to 30. To stay warm, I wore a thermal with a denim shirt, my new leggings that are lined with fleece, and combat boots with wool socks borrowed from my dad. There is no way I am taking any chances with compromising my warmth or immune system just because I wanted to look cute and girly. In this picture, you see me in my native environment: comfortable on my bed with my laptop.

Shirt (Thrifted, bur Aeropostal), thermal (Free People), laptop (ASUS), leggings (lululemon), & beanie (Free People)

Shirt (thrifted Aeropostal), thermal (Free People), laptop (ASUS), leggings (lululemon), necklace (made by Matt) & beanie (Free People)

Keep it yummy,

Jo

Next Time: Food and clothes.

Leave a Reply

