Cornish Hens and American Horror Story

As usual, before coming back to campus, I go on a massive shopping spree with my parents. By “shopping,” I mean grocery. I picked up a Cornish hen from Westside Market because why not? I had apples, so I decided to stuff it and this is what happened. My friend, Zac, also came over to watch American Horror Story: Coven.

The Food

It’s been a tragically cold first week of classes. The day I made this dish, it was fine. Like, 30-degree-weather-sun-is-shining fine. So having a nice roasted warm meal was probably the best decision I had made. We also made butternut squash fries, which are crazy-easy, but the only picture I took of those was my tragic ability to cut them.

Butternut squash cut into shapes that don't make sense.

Butternut squash cut into shapes that don’t make sense. This is my idea of “halving” a squash.

Onto the important matter: Cornish hen. It is a hybrid chicken raised as a broiler chicken and they are quite expensive per pound. Luckily enough, one pound of this bird is enough to fill the stomachs of two grown college students.

This bird is tiny. Knife set for reference scale.

This bird is tiny. Knife set for reference scale.

The instructions on cooking this fine bird are so easy, I don’t think it warrants a fancy table. Plus, instructions came with the plastic wrap that I bought the bird in. It said to preheat the oven at 350°F, season with salt and pepper (we used garlic salt and lemon pepper, for extra taste), and leave it in the oven uncovered for an hour.

Random pieces of chicken organ that came in an added plastic bag.

Random pieces of chicken organ that came in an added plastic bag.

Before roasting.

Before roasting.

And after!

And after!

The juices ran clear and my thermometer did not come in earlier today, but I have not gotten sick yet, so it was definitely cooked all the way through (it all seriousness, use an instant-read thermometer and make sure it reads 180°F for chicken). The meat was juicy and tender and came apart very easily. I will definitely buy this again.

But wait! What do you do with the scraps? I added a quartered onion, some carrots, rosemary, tons of water, and made a stock that I will use until it is gone.

The Clothes

Dressing for negative-degree weather is hard. It’s hard to look cute, but equally hard to make sure important things don’t get frost bite. Here is my outfit from today.

Thermal (Free People), hat (friend's mum knitted it), scarf (Urban Outfitters), pants (Uniqlo)

Thermal (Free People), hat (friend’s mum knitted it), scarf (Urban Outfitters), pants (Uniqlo)

What you might not know is that I have a tank top under my thermal and tights under my pants (which is why they might look so tight). Ugh, I hope we only have one bitterly cold day like this during the semester. Otherwise, I might be very, very upset.

Keep it yummy (and warm),

Jo

P.S.: If I owned anything warm and black, I would totally do Black Wednesdays for AHS, but alas, I do not.

Leave a Reply

