Feijoada and the Opposite of Brazil

As you, dear readers, know, I went to Brazil over the summer and while it was winter there, it was a much more pleasant wintery experience than the single-digit temperatures Fahrenheit (well into negative teens and 20’s Celsius) we have in upstate New York. Therefore, to bring back some of the warmth of South America, I decided to attempt a feijoada, a hearty Brazilian meat stew. Due to my fridge being overrun with vegetables, I had to ad-hoc some of the meat portions, which gave me a good excuse to go outside and take some beautiful pictures of ice. As you have probably noticed, I have been out of the blogging loop for quite some time. More on that later.

The Food

Feijoada is a meat-lover’s dream: you put pounds and pounds of it mixed with some black beans and stew-flavor bits like onions and carrots. So, yeah, meat.

You start by boiling the meat together. I used pork chop, country style short rib, apple-wood smoked bacon, and hot Italian sausage. For some reason, my pot has a hard time boiling, so bringing it to a boil too about 20 minutes before I could reduce it to a simmer. And then, some of the meat disappeared. I guess it shrunk or something.  The recipe I followed was the one featured on Buzzfeed, but with most of the meat-portion a little…uh…less fancy, shall we say.

The meats together in a pot.

The meats together in a pot.

The non-meat portion: peppers, onions, garlic, and green pepper.

The non-meat portion: peppers, onions, garlic, and green pepper.

The meal complete with sauteed kale and some sliced oranges. Best food ever.

The meal complete with sauteed kale and some sliced oranges. Best food ever.

This meal was so filling but oh my God, I had so many leftovers and not enough free tme to have people over to eat it with me. Note to self: don’t make 8-10 servings at once next time.

The Clothes

I wanted to revisit one of the outfits I wore in Brazil. It did not appear in the Brazil and Argentina post, but I did try to document my outfits as best as possible. The first picture is the outfit when I wore it Argentina when it was still a warm 50 or 60°F.

This might turn into an unofficial before-and-after. Before-and-after what, I have no idea.

This might turn into an unofficial before-and-after. Before-and-after what, I have no idea.

The second is the version of it for around 0, complete with a snowy background (of course, I was wearing a coat. I took it off for the picture).

Sweater (urban outfitters), hat (Free People), pants (Lululemon), shoes (Steve Madden), gloves (Nike)

Sweater (urban outfitters), scarf (thrifted), hat (Free People), pants (Lululemon), shoes (Steve Madden), gloves (Nike)

I had to squint a bit because I totally forgot how snow reflects light so easily. My glasses got really steamed up, so if anyone has any tips for that, please let me know.

Keep it yummy,

Jo

Next time: Sweet potato with goat cheese and grapes. Finally, something for lunch.

P.S.: SO SORRY for the ungodly-long hiatus from blogging. This last semester of college has proved crazier than it needed to be, but now I have plenty of breathing room. Expect more posts! More posts more often! And the weather is nice so I can wear clothes other than my running leggings!

Leave a Reply

