Root Canal Diet: Drink ALL the Smoothies!

On Thursday, I got a root canal done. If you want to know what the most uncomfortable nap is like, imagine blinding lights, drills in your mouth, and Phil Collins as your background music. This procedure has lessened the fear of infection due to an infected tooth, but has resulted in changes that I will need to implement for the next week or so. Such as joining the fruit smoothie club.

 The Food

Smoothies are a great way to drink your fruits. I know you get more fiber from actually eating them, but for someone like me who isn’t the biggest fan, I like to blend them all up and drink them. And add some things you couldn’t add to fruit if you’re just eating them, like chia seeds (even though it makes my stomach feel like it has pop-rocks). For this post, however, I’m skipping the chia seeds. With any dental work, you want to avoid picking things out of your teeth as much as possible.

Pre-blending. Raspberries, coconut water, some agave nectar, and watermelon.

Pre-blending. Raspberries, coconut water, some agave nectar, and watermelon.

Well, this is sufficiently awkward. My camera never recorded the picture of the smoothie after! But the drink turns this gorgeous, deep pink without a chunk in sight. It tasted sweet, but not overly so. The agave nectar balances out the tartness of the raspberries. This filled me up until I ate some soup for lunch and pre-dinner. I swear, those things never fill me up as well as, you know, actual food.

The Clothes

It’s important to note that when you’re in nondescript pain from having the pulp of your tooth drilled out, looking like a million bucks is kind of your last priority. Admittedly, in this spring weather, I almost wanted to resort to wearing leggings as pants. But I didn’t! I went for a comfier and more fashion-forward version: The harem pant. I wear these a lot. These and maxi skirts, but I wanted to give mine a rest. If I was an animated cartoon character, my default outfit would be any top with a maxi skirt. Enough is enough.

Not the most flattering pic, but I'm in pain, so I don't care. (tank top: Zara, pants: UO, shoes: Breckelle's).

Not the most flattering pic, but I’m in pain, so I don’t care. (tank top: Zara, pants: UO, shoes: Breckelle’s).

Keep it yummy,

Jo

P.S. There will be more to this root canal saga. Just you see.

Leave a Reply

