I Tried It: Trader Joe’s Risotto

Ever feel fabulously lazy? Ever feel like you don’t really want to get a whole bunch of rice you’re not going to wind up eating? Well, risotto is probably my favorite foods and I figured that buying it in a kit might take so much of the mystery out of its preparation. It was an interesting experience.

The Food

Trader Joe’s has never disappointed me. The prices are great, the products are good, and I tend to find my newest “favorite thing” week after week. Being a busy girl-on-the-go (cue eye-roll), I would love to not spend more than an hour on dinner at any given time. Maybe that’s why I watch so much Chopped; I’m trying to figure out how to make something edible out of random crap in less than 30 minutes. ANYWAY, here is the box of risotto I bought at Trader Joe’s:

If only I could make it look like this.

If only I could make it look like this.

It looks friendly, but one sign of “oh no” that I noticed on the box was that, it seems, the only option is the low-fat option. On the first trial, I followed the instructions to a T, which were quite unusual for risotto. Instead of adding increments of liquid, you add all the liquid at once and cover it. This confused me because I’m used to adding some wine first to break up the starchiness of the rice. And then adding all the wicked just cooks it like boring rice. It was really confusing. On the bright side, the seasoning packet tasted wonderful.

Anyone who knows me knows that I like parmesan and peas.

Anyone who knows me knows that I like parmesan and peas.

The risotto tasted fine, which is probably not the best word to describe a dish. It was a tad mushy, just like over-cooked rice, as opposed to the creamy feeling that you want in a risotto. The mushroom and onion flavor definitely shone through the dish. I tried making it again using some wine and adding the broth in increments definitely helped the texture. So, while it’s nice to have a kit ready to take the guess work out of seasoning, I think I’ll be going to buying my own arborio rice.

The Clothes

I wanted to try different patterns in my outfit today so I took maybe steps to combine a striped shirt with a floral scarf. I wish I was brave enough to pair stripes and florals in a big way, but I need to get over the feeling of looking silly. Also, I’ve discovered that wearing a scarf when it’s warm and breezy is the perfect way to look cute without wearing a stupid amount of layers.

I could totally be Sailor Jupiter or Sasha Braus (scarf: flea market, shirt:urban outfitters, shorts: urban outfitters, converse: DSW)

I could totally be Sailor Jupiter or Sasha Braus (scarf: flea market, shirt:urban outfitters, shorts: urban outfitters, converse: DSW)

Keep it yummy,

Jo

 

2 thoughts on “I Tried It: Trader Joe’s Risotto

  1. Outstanding quеst there. Whɑt happeneԀ after?

    Thanks!

  2. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where
    I could get a captcha plugin for my comment form?

    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding
    one? Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

