Scampi-nara Recipe: Treat Yourself!

Anyone who knows me know that I value making comfort food that works for you. Some people are comforted by health food. I like to take a break from health food and bust out the bacon, spaghetti, clams, and–wait, what?

The Food

Sometimes you want one meal, but you also want another meal. This was my dilemma with regards to scampi or carbonara. I decided to combine the two and here is how I did it!

Seen here: Corn pasta, two lemons, garlic, a can of clams, thick cut bacon, and peas.

Seen here: Corn pasta, two lemons, garlic, a can of clams, thick cut bacon, and peas.

I started by boiling some water for the pasta. I used corn because of my gluten allergies. I then began sauteeing the bacon and then the garlic for extra flavor. Once the bacon had crisped up, I added the clams with some of the juice and squeezed in one of the lemons. Bacon is not one of my favorite things, but I do enjoy it with seafood and pasta. Unpopular opinion, but I don’t see what all the hype is about.

Obligatory photo of cooking with bacon while cooking with bacon.

Obligatory photo of cooking with bacon while cooking with bacon.

While all that was steaming, I then added the peas and waiting for those to soften. I timed the pasta correctly this time and it had finished cooking at around the same time. It’s amazing what one can do when following instructions on a package.

While this might not be the healthiest of meals, it was certainly delicious and fulfilled every craving that I had at that time. This is also not the kind of meal I would test out on my friends, but it was good enough for one. If you can’t treat yourself to delicious, bizarre meal combinations, then who can?

Scampi-nara in all its comfort-goodness.

Scampi-nara in all its comfort-goodness.

Scampi-Nara
  • Serving of pasta, cooked
  • 2 slices of bacon
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 lemons
  • 1/2 can of baby clams with their juice
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of peas
  • Parmesan cheese (optional)
  1. Boil water for the pasta
  2. In a skillet, start crisping up the bacon
  3. Add the garlic once the bacon has become slightly crispy
  4. Put desired amount of spaghetti in boiling water
  5. Add clams
  6. Add clam juice
  7. Squeeze lemons
  8. Let steam for a few minutes
  9. Add peas
  10. Mix in the pasta, which should be done at this point
  11. If you like, grate some Parmesan on top
  12. Enjoy!

The Clothes

I have nothing for clothes this time around, mostly because I was lounging around in my sweatpants when I made this and I don’t want to repeat that fashion faux-pas. Or maybe it’s just that summer is going strong so I have been recycling the same few outfits. Next time, I’ll have something good.

Keep it yummy,

Jo

Leave a Reply

