Bacon Date Cupcakes: We Can’t Make Frosting (Feat. Matthew)

I don’t even know why I think making frosting at the same time cupcakes are happening is a good idea. You would think that after a few years of cupcake-making for and with friends, I would learn something. Well, here’s another failed frosting attempt, but also a delicious attempt at combining three things people like: Bacon, dates, and goat cheese.

The Food

This recipe is borrowed from Food Beast, as suggested by Matthew. I am all for combining sweet and savory. I am all for stuffing cupcakes with something. And then there’s this recipe, which screams, “Let’s Do ALL the Things!” To start, I had Matthew stuff the dates with goat cheese while I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten-Free Cake Mix, with more milk by accident.

Concentration and precision are important.

Concentration and precision are important.

The cupcake mix was easy, even though it was hard to determine how much batter to put on because of the dates at the bottom of the liners.

You can't even tell there's a date stuffed with goat cheese in there.

You can’t even tell there’s a date stuffed with goat cheese.

When gluten-free cupcakes bake, the rising is truly something awe-inspiring. If I could somehow safely photograph it, I would show you. Alas, the oven’s window is too opaque. Either way, the cupcakes look like they are about to burst. But, as the next photo shows, they look perfectly fine.

See? All fine.

See? All fine.

I like to think that bacon is easy to cook. First, you buy it. Then, you turn on some burners. Then, you put a pan on set burners. The bacon then goes on the pan. Wait. There is fat and bacon. Matthew bought the cheapest bacon at the store. And let me tell you, protein weighs more than fat, so it was probably cheap due to the exorbitant amount of fat. I mean, look at this!

So you start with this...

So you start with this…

...going into this (where'd it go??)...

…going into this (where’d it go??)…

There was so much fat, that the bacon was hardly crisping up. I’d rather describe it as braising in its own juice. But, the all right part is that instead of butter in your frosting, you can use the bacon grease. The only problem: Pan-hot bacon grease does not do well for something that you’re trying to set. The only good part is that the milk doesn’t curdle, but you have to wait even longer for your frosting to be ready.

Frosting in a bowl, people.

Frosting in a bowl, people.

But we said screw it, and put the bacon bits on the cupcakes and spread the frosting on top thin enough that it dried almost on contact. The end result was delicious, but I, for one, am not certain if all these mishaps are worth it.

But the cupcakes look so pretty!

But the cupcakes look so pretty!

The Clothes

No fashion entry, just cats. Here, we have Apollo looking wistfully outside.

Somewhere out there...

Somewhere out there…

I am totally kidding! Here is the outfit I wore while we were cooking. This maxi skirt, I feel, does great things for my curves by being both body conscious and loose. I have also fallen in love with H&M’s bizarrely-constructed, loose crop tops since they look so good with maxis. The sweater is a forest green to complement the flowers on the skirt. I would have asked for a retake if I paid attention whatever my face was doing. There’s always next time.

I look tall and goofy. (Sweater: H&M, Top: H&M, Boots: Zara, Skirt: Urban Outfitters, Necklace: Handmade by Matthew)

I look tall and goofy. (Sweater: H&M, Top: H&M, Boots: Zara, Skirt: Urban Outfitters, Necklace: Handmade by Matthew)

Keep it yummy,

Jo

P.S.: Next entry, I will have a special guest helping try out Glutino’s pizza crusts. I’m pretty excited for it and so should you.

Leave a Reply

