Tokyo Ghoul Cafe Sandwiches

This New Year has been a little nuts for me. New internship, new projects, my goal to run 730 miles this year…I will be posting sporadically. For the first post of 2015, I wanted to do another bit on hosting friends for an anime marathon. The show is Tokyo Ghoul and the food is the sandwich.

The Food

When hosting, several factors need to be taken into account, namely dietary restrictions and having enough variety to keep people satisfied but enough variety to maintain interest. I went with sandwiches filled with ham or turkey with cheese, lettuce, and some had tomatoes.

Sandwiches are a staple at most proper coffee shops...

Sandwiches are a staple at most proper coffee shops…

Since myself and one of my friends are gluten-free, we had to have our own special plate of gluten-free yums. The trick is to make analogous products since, to me anyway, inclusiveness is a top priority at any (fun) gathering.The key is to find the perfect bread. This one from Our Daily Bread from Chatham, NY is some of the best I’ve had.

...gluten-free sandwiches, doubly so.

…gluten-free sandwiches, doubly so.

The Clothes

I did two outfits for this viewing, mostly because I love fall- and winter-friendly outfits, so I turned it into a great opportunity to do a double casual cosplay.

The first one is inspired by Touka, the girl who walks Tokyo Ghoul protagonist Kaneki Ken through his first experiences being a half-human, half-ghoul. She, just like me, wears tights with her shorts. It’s far too cold to go for thigh-highs, but combining a very dark, basic color scheme can help add a bit of Anteiku to your daily routine.

Cardigan: gift, shirt: Tobi, shorts: UO, tights: ???, boots: Dolce Vita

Cardigan: gift, shirt: Tobi, shorts: UO, tights: ???, boots: Dolce Vita

The second is based on a fan-favorite, Uta the mask-maker that helps ghouls feed while keeping their identities from the CCG. His style is very edgy and pretty standard street style, fitting the sordid ghoul underbelly of Tokyo. I followed his black and white color (or lack-there-of) palette.

Shirt: Tobi, shorts: UO, tights: ???, shoes: Dolce Vita, bandeau: Free People

Shirt: Tobi, shorts: UO, tights: ???, shoes: Dolce Vita, bandeau: Free People

Keep it yummy,

Jo

PS: I cannot ensure how often I will be posting, but I’ll try to keep them relevant and delicious. Also, if you want to keep in touch, follow me on Twitter and Instagram, where there is more food and clothing fun to be had.

PPS: Cosplay in featured image credit goes to LALAAX on Deviantart.

Leave a Reply

